Areas of Practice



Accordingly, the grounds for divorce in NYS are now as follows:

  • Irretrievable Breakdown in Relationship
  • Constructive Abandonment
  • Actual Abandonment
  • Adultery
  • Legal Separation
  • Cruel and Inhuman Treatment

Effective October 12, 2012, York York became a "no fault" state, allowing one party to obtain a divorce by alleging that there has been an irretrievable breakdown in the relationship for a period of at least six months.